VANCOUVER (NEWS1130) – Wearing wrap-around sunglasses, Manny Malhotra was on the ice when the Presidents’ Trophy was awarded to the Canucks at Rogers Arena. It was the centre’s first public appearance since March 16.

Kris King was on hand from the NHL to present the trophy to the number one team in the regular season. After Captain Henrik Sedin skated to accept the award, alternate Captain Malhotra was introduced. Sporting a dark suit, Malhotra was given a loud ovation by the Canucks fans as he entered from the Olympia entrance at ice level. Not wanting to jinx their playoff hopes, neither Sedin nor Malhotra touched the trophy. Malhotra was struck in the eye by a puck versus Colorado, and has had two surgeries since the accident.

Prior to that presentation, the team honoured this year’s players with the season ending awards.

NHL leading scorer Daniel Sedin was selected by the fans as the winner of the Cyclone Taylor Trophy as the Most Valuable Player. Number 22 also won the Cyrus H. McLean award as the Leading Scorer.

The fans also voted for the Most Exciting Player, which went to Ryan Kesler.  For the second straight year Christian Ehrhoff was the Walter (Babe) Pratt Trophy winner as best defenceman.

Goalie Roberto Luongo took the Molson Cup as the player with the most three stars nominations. The Canucks Booster Club chose Jannik Hansen as the Fred J. Hume Award winner, as the Canucks’ Unsung Hero.

Prior to the game, a bronze sculpture of former coach Roger Neilson, holding a stick and white towel in hand, was unveiled in front of Rogers Arena. The sculpture will be permanent, and is immortalizing the Canucks longstanding “towel power” tradition.