VANCOUVER (NEWS1130) – Nine athletes and two teams will be honoured and inducted into the BC Sports Hall of Fame tonight at the Banquet of Champions at the Vancouver Convention Centre.

Former Vancouver Canucks captain Trevor Linden headlines the players category inductees.  He goes in along with lacrosse players Gary and Paul Gait, snowboarder Maëlle Ricker and skier Lauren Woolstencroft.

Simon Fraser University Clan wrestling head coach Mike Jones and international figure skating judge
Audrey Williams will be inducted in the builder’s category.

Long time Canucks colour commentator Tom Larscheid is the lone media member getting honoured.

The BC members of the 2010 Men’s Olympic Hockey Team are Duncan Keith, Roberto Luongo, Scott Niedermayer, Brent Seabrook, and Shea Weber are also being inducted.

The WAC Bennett Award goes to Marty Zlotnik, who has raised millions of dollars for the University of BC and for athletes and sport throughout the province.