OTTAWA, ON (NEWS1130) – It was a celebration of homegrown talent last night at the National Arts Centre for the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards. Eight of Canada’s finest acts walked the red carpet before being honoured.
Rock legends Rush, filmmaker Deepa Mehta and comedian Mary Walsh were among those who received the awards given out by Governor General David Johnston.
Other honourees included philanthropist Earlaine Collins, pianist Janina Fialkowska, choreographer Paul-André Fortier, director Denis Marleau, and composer Des McAnuff.
Rush’s lead singer Getty Lee said it’s a privilege to be at the gala. “I’m so proud of Canada for doing such a thing. To value artists and to celebrate art is a real pat on the back for artists.”
For 20 years the Performing Arts Awards have honoured Canada’s singers, dancers, directors and actors.
Past award winners include Christopher Plummer, The Guess Who and Angela Hewitt.