Loading articles...

Roughriders claim 101st Grey Cup title

REGINA, SK (NEWS1130) – Geroy Simon caught two touchdowns in the first half and Kory Sheets ran for nearly 200 yards and two scores as the Saskatchewan Roughriders beat the Hamilton Tiger-Cats 45-23 to win the Grey Cup.

Sheets set a Grey Cup single game record with 197 rushing yards and was named MVP of the game for his effort.

Chris Getzlaf caught three passes for 78 yards and was named the Most Outstanding Canadian.

Luca Congi put Hamilton on the board first with a 45-yard field goal 5:16 into the first quarter.

The Roughriders responded quickly, as Darian Durant hit Simon for a 15-yard touchdown under three minutes later. It was Geroy’s first career touchdown in the Grey Cup.

Saskatchewan took control in the second quarter, outscoring Hamilton 24-3. Jock Sanders and Sheets had rushing touchdowns before Geroy caught his second touchdown of the game, a 42-yarder.

Hamilton began a push-back late in the third quarter, as Henry Burris called his own number and ran into the endzone from 18 yards out for the Ticats’ first touchdown of the game.

Congi booted his third field goal early in the fourth quarter to cut the lead to 15 points.

Sheets scored his second touchdown of the game before Weston Dressler hauled in his first score to put things out of reach. CJ Gable scored in the dying minutes for Hamilton.

Simon claimed his third Grey Cup championship, after winning with the BC Lions in 2006 and 2011. Simon left BC in an off-season trade following 12 seasons with the Lions, in which he cemented himself as one of the top receivers in CFL history.

The Roughriders become the third straight team to win the Grey Cup on its home turf. The Toronto Argonauts won at the Rogers Centre last year, and the Lions were champions at BC Place in 2011.

Saskatchewan won its fourth Grey Cup championship. It also claimed the title in 1966, 1989 and 2007.

BC Place is the host site of the 2014 Grey Cup game.